Wine scores are bologna

How we each perceive wine is going to be different. I have written over 40 blog posts on various topics about wine, and I still feel like I have no idea what I’m talking about. There is so much to know and so many wines, it easily becomes overwhelming.

For a long time I loved Apothic Red. It was my favourite wine and I didn’t even consider buying anything else. Then one day, I hated it. It was too sweet and way too rich and just thinking of it now makes me feel gross.

The great thing about wine is that it is subjective. I can hate it and you can love it, and that’s totally fine. It doesn’t mean the wine is good or bad; it just means we have different tastes.

For example, I think DORITOS are the greatest chip to ever leave a bag and enter my mouth. Something about that dusty cheese really gets me going. I have a friend who, shockingly, who thinks Arribas are amazing. I honestly can’t understand why someone would willingly choose those spiced wannabe chips, but hey.

It’s like people who love Jeanne’s cake — like, seriously? They ACTUALLY taste like cardboard with icing on them. People love them. I don’t get it.

And M&M’s are clearly the superior candy to SMARTIES.

I realize these are all subjective opinions, but I believe in my heart, soul, and mouth that I am correct and there is no other way. The good thing is that nobody cares what I think of these flavours, and my partner has the same tastes as me, so it works out well.

Some critics use points to score wine, which makes wine objective. But I say that’s bologna! It’s what you like. Why is their opinion “better” than mine? Just because you give a wine a high score doesn’t mean I’m going to like it. Points are meaningless. Even the Journal of Wine Economics referenced two papers stating that wine ratings were a “powerful illusion.”

https://www.wsj.com/articles/SB10001424052748703683804574533840282653628

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Wine scores are bologna

  1. I used to work at a store that sold wine and I learned many wines have refined sugar added to them. We sold a barrel-load of those saccharine sips. Those wines, like many of the high-rated wines, weren’t for me. Trying a Wine Spectator 92 wine is sometimes like trying a cookie-bottomed cake. At the end of the day, I can always make a Kalimotxo to go with my M&M’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

