Six places to sip wine in Winnipeg

Everyone is busy. Whether it’s school, work, family, volunteering, trying to maintain your relationship and friendships, keeping a sliver of time for yourself to stay sane, and if you are like me — which I know a lot of you are — it’s all of these things. When the stars align, and I am able to take a night off with my partner I want to go someplace I know I will enjoy. These are my top six places, in no particular order, to relax and enjoy my favourite beverage.

The Common – Where else can you get flights of wine? Seriously, I don’t know. I always felt that The Forks was missing something, and The Common was it. Sitting down to people watch while I get to decide what kind of food I want by creep-staring at other people’s plates is exactly what I want to do at The Forks – especially if I get to be drinking three different kinds of wine while I do it. It’s seriously the perfect meeting place. I love it. IG: @thecommonwpg

img_1840

Enoteca – I have only been here once because I am a starving student that needs to make better choices about where I spend my money, but that was enough for me to love it. It’s an intimate restaurant in the middle of a strip mall, kind of in the suburbs, which has parking – so I’m into it. The inside is beautiful and the staff really knows their wine. Ask them to pair your wine with the shareable plates and then you have a next-level drinking and dining experience. Don’t even get me started on the food. It’s amazing, but that and a healthy amount of sass is what you should expect from Scott Bagshaw. There really is nothing else quite like it in Winnipeg. IG: @yourenoteca

Peasant Cookery: Jam-packed with young professionals, or almost young professionals, Peasant Cookery wins with its location in the heart of The Exchange District. The lounge is one of my favourite places to have a glass of wine. The wine selection isn’t large, but it’s good, and the prices are fair. I highly suggest going on a Monday for half price charcuterie boards or a Wednesday for the Buck-A-Shuck. In the summer, the patio could not be more perfect. Right across from The Cube, you can catch free live music while enjoying your sangria and still have some personal space. If you love to be around what’s happening in our city, the Peasant Cookery patio is the place to be. I also have to give an honourable mention to the cocktails here. The bartenders seriously know how to whip up a great drink. IG:@peasantcookerywpg

Mona Lisa Ristorante: Mona Lisa has a self-serve EnoWine System with 20 feature wines by the glass that makes your wine drinking experience interactive. It’s relaxed and informal, just how a conversation over wine should be. Plus, it’s always fun to try something new and pressing buttons and watching the wine pour into my glass is still fun for me…yes, I’m an adult. Every Thursday Mona Lisa has live music, and every Wednesday is half off wine – so I’ll see you there Wednesday. If you go before or after a Jets/Bomber Game the place will be PACKED. They offer free rides to and from the games. I dare you to look at the menu and not order anything. The apps, pizzas and pastas rule my life. IG:@monalisacorydon

Segovia: Clearly, I love tapas. It’s probably because I have a FOMO on food. I want to taste all of the flavours! The menu is a little mysterious. I kind of know some of the words on the menu, and the rest are either in another language or an exotic food I have never heard of. Either of which I am okay with because I have yet to be disappointed with any of the flavours in my mouth – even if I don’t know what they are. But we are talking about places to drink wine, and the food here should be enough of a reason, but I have more. The patio is incredible and great for people watching. The interior is beautiful and has a great ambiance. If you get a chance, sit at the bar and watch the chefs cook. Segovia is almost always full. If it is, they will call you as soon as your table is ready. Since Osborne has plenty of shops and restaurants in sight, this a chance to shop, check out the other local bars and spend some time in one of Winnipeg’s hot spots. The wine selection is spectacular and the bottles seem to flow quickly here, so don’t drive. IG: @segoviatapasbar

Chaise Cafe & Lounge: More people need to know about this hidden gem that camouflages into the houses on Provencher. I love it so much. It has an intimate lounge with couches you can easily move around to suit your party, an unbelievable patio, family style brunch with homemade bagels, and a covered and heated patio for the summer.  Chaise also has an incredible promotion on Mondays. You have to ask for it, but it’s 50% off your food bill. Hello! That means I should eat double the food, right? IG: @chaisecafewpg

Leave a Reply

