Getting Crafty

I love doing crafts. I am usually the one making homemade cards for my friends on their birthday, and I have burned myself on a hot glue gun more times than I care to admit.

I was inspired to combine a couple of my favourite things: wine and crafts!

I started to save corks, and asked my family and friends to do the same. I love the thought of all the conversations had over a certain bottle of wine, and I have the cork to represent that.

My bedroom at the cabin needed a little sprucing up. I called my hipster/artist friend Kristina and told her I need an old door. She knew of a store downtown and she helped me pick one out.

IMG_3404

I took it home, smashed out the glass, and sanded it down.

Next, I repainted the door and added a thin wooden back.

IMG_3493

Now for the fun part: placing the corks.

Sometimes this was a huge pain in the butt. I was almost finished a section and the last cork wouldnโ€™t fit. I had to cut a few corks in the end, but it turned out pretty well.

IMG_3494

I glued down each cork with a hot glue gun, and then sprayed it with a clear gloss to keep the corks in place.

IMG_3944

It turned out to be very heavy, so I got my dad to secure my new headboard to the wall for me.

I think it turned out great! Once in a while I have to glue in a cork or two, but itโ€™s totally worth it.

IMG_6683

P.S. I had a great wine this weekend at Maque, along with some fantastic food. If you are looking for a new restaurant to try, I had a wonderful experience ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_2952

 

Leave a Reply

