Cardboardeaux – 7 Reasons to Drink Boxed Wine

Many restaurants, or maybe just the ones I frequent,  serve boxed wine as their house wine. So why does it have the reputation of a dirty belly button?

I must admit, I just figured out the joys of boxed wine last summer. I too judged a book by its cover and snubbed the cardboard box until then. But then I realized:

#1 It lasts WAY longer.

The airtight plastic bag and spigot allow the wine to last up to six weeks.

#2 It’s WAY cheaper to buy a box than five bottles of wine.

It ends up being about $4 – $6 per bottle.

#3 In Australia they call it Goon and it’s cool there, so why not here? #slapthegoon (I know Ms. Fletcher knows what I’m talking about. P.S. her blog is hilarious. Go read it. https://kylafletcher.wordpress.com)

Fun Fact: Boxed wine was actually invented in Australia.

#4 If you drop the box it wont break.

#5 No cork taint.

#6 If you just want to have one glass you don’t have to worry about opening a bottle and letting it go bad.

Don’t let that open bottle pressure you into drinking it anymore!

#7 Boxed wine has a lower carbon footprint than bottled wine.

Give yourself a pat on the back next time you choose that box over the bottle.

There are some cons to the box.

It’s a big commitment if you haven’t tried the wine before and the selection isn’t that great just yet. My friends/wine enthusiasts shared their favourite boxed wine if you decide to take the leap: Concha y Toro Frontera, Black Box Cab Sav, Mission Ridge Cab Sav, Radio Boka Tempranillo, and Peller Estates Pinot Grigio

IMG_8320

She may be spending too much time with me…. (Just to be clear, she did not drink any, she just wanted to help me carry my “groceries”)

 

Leave a Reply

