A Cure for the Wine Flu

Some of you may be on the “New Year, new you” bandwagon and are doing a dry January. Good for you. The rest of us are going to continue enjoying life.

Loving wine comes with consequences. Tannins and sulphites are known to cause awful headaches. Organic wines usually have fewer amounts of sulphites.

We know the basic rules of avoiding hangovers

  • Stay hydrated – turn that wine into water
  • Drink in moderation
  • Get a lot of sleep
  • It’s OK, pick the pasta over the salad
  • Beer (or wine) before liquor, never been sicker…
  • Advil and Gatorade

Help I didn’t listen!

My brain is going to explode, my bed is too hot, and my mouth is as dry as the Sahara.

How to become human again after not following instructions

Let’s hope you were smart enough to book the next day off because you need to sleep.

Advil and Gatorade are still good ideas for the morning after.

Foods that are salty, high in fat and protein can delay the absorption of alcohol. Salt helps you replace lost electrolytes and the B6 in meats reduces hangover symptoms.

Basically what I am telling you is to hit the McDonalds drive-thru.

Having a shower will generally make you feel like less of a waste of skin. The dreaded sit-down shower is a high-risk. However, this could help you sweat it out.

My next recommendation would be some type of exercise. I would probably never do this myself, but I hear it does wonders. One time I went to a hot yoga class and fell asleep. I actually did feel better after.

The caffeine snooze

Have a cup of tea and take a 20-minute nap. I encourage you to do a 360° blanket wrap and go burrito style.

I don’t need to tell you to chug water and watch mindless YouTube videos. Or Making a Murder! Watch that!!! But so help me God if you tell me what happens….

If all else fails, have a Caesar.

Happy hangovers kids.

P.S. This is pretty hilarious

http://www.buzzfeed.com/laurasilver/beware-the-red-demon#.cu2jXevRk

P.P.S. Shoutout to my BFF Ronnie who celebrated her 26th birthday yesterday and could probably use this advice this morning.

ron

 

Leave a Reply

