Alicia’s Centre for People Who Can’t Drink Good and Want to Do Other Stuff Good Too

Hello everyone! My name is Alicia Kondrat, I am 25 years old and currently taking my next step towards becoming a real adult at Red River College in the Creative Communications program.

Just so you know, I love wine, winey wine wine. Most people in my life share this particular passion, and for something that I enjoy, I know very little about how to pick a good bottle (or box).

I often find myself at social gatherings talking up my wine tasting skills and knowledge but in reality, most of my selection is based on the label. I hear you should never judge a book by its cover, but when a wine is labeled “Fat Bastard” and it’s only $15.99, that’s a winning bottle in my mind.

I invite you to join me on my quest for wine knowledge. I have had a copy of Wine for Dummies on my shelf for about a year and I am excited to crack it open. I have questions such as,

Why is this bottle $8 and that bottle $75?

Why do I love this Shiraz, and that one tastes like feet?

How do you pronounce Syrah?

If wine is made from grapes, why can people taste pear, melons and other fruits?

And other inquiries for experts on the subject.

I have comprised some facts from the book, Wine for Dummies by Ed McCarthy and Mary Ewing-Mulligan to peak your interest. After reading this valuable information, you’ll be able to share it at your next dinner party, around the office or even to impress a new fling, because soon you will be a classy and cultured wine expert!

Brace yourselves, wisdom is coming:

  • Sugar from grapes turns into alcohol. Therefore, the sweeter the grapes, the higher alcohol content.

I’m going to use this as an excuse for the loopy Gallo White Zinfandel nights when I was younger.

  • Sulfur dioxide is added to wine to prevent it from turning into vinegar. Generally, the less sulfur dioxide the better.
  • White wine can be made from green, yellow, pinkish yellow grapes, or the juice of red grapes! The skins are removed by using rollers to squeeze the juice out.

People don’t step on the grapes anymore?

  • True Champagne is only from a certain region of France. However, champagne (lower case c) can appear on all sorts of bottles. Most bubbly is referred to as sparkling wine.

Cue Waynes World video clip-

  • A pushed up cork is a sign of a cooked wine, AKA a bad bottle.

Let’s talk tannins. Tannin is a yellowish or brownish bitter-tasting organic substance. You can find tannin in plants, seeds, bark, wood, leaves and fruit skins. (Thank you dictionary.com)

  • People who drink red wine and suffer from headaches usually                blame sulfites. This isn’t true. Red wine has the least amount of sulfites because tannin, from the skin of red grapes, acts as a preservative.
  • Tannins taste very bitter when wine is cold. If a bottle of red feels cool to your hand, that’s the ideal temperature to consume your delicious beverage.                       (I told you so mom)

Cheers everyone!

If you have any questions you want answered, ask! This may be a long journey, but nothing a glass of wine can’t fix.

Have a grape day!

One thought on “Alicia’s Centre for People Who Can’t Drink Good and Want to Do Other Stuff Good Too

Leave a Reply

